COSSI members

COSSI member directory
Name Organisation/institutions Area of expertise Contact
information
Julie Leask Sydney Nursing School and
School of Public Health, Sydney Medical School
University of Sydney
Behavioural science, vaccination, health communication,  policy, implementation science, health policy and advocacy

Qualitative methods, including in-depth interviews, focus groups and media analysis.
Quantitative methods including psychometrics, quality of life measurement, experimental studies and systematic reviews
Julie.Leask@sydney.edu.au
+61 2 93515307
Kerrie Wiley School of Public Health, Sydney Medical School
University of Sydney

Social and behavioural aspects of immunisation, and their implications for policy and practice. Including:
-    Understanding non-vaccinating parent’s perspectives
-    immunisation in pregnancy
-    exploring the shared decision making approach to immunisation
-     exploring the availability and quality of immunisation information on the internet;
-    immunisation and preventive health practices among Australian Hajj pilgrims
-     exploring the role of complementary and alternative medicine practitioners in immunisation decisions
-    barriers to childhood immunisation among disadvantaged populations
Qualitative and quantitative social science methods; epidemiology

Kerrie.Wiley@sydney.edu.au
+612 9114 1321
Katie Attwell The University of Western Australia Qualitative research of vaccine hesitant, rejecting and accepting parents; social and critical theory; behaviour change; social marketing; developing and testing interventions; public policy and governance Katie.attwell@uwa.edu.au
Samantha Carlson The National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS), and The School of Public Health, University of Sydney Maternal and childhood immunisation; social media/vaccine communication; program evaluation samantha.carlson@health.nsw.gov.au
Catherine Helps School of Public Health, University of Sydney Parents who decline all vaccinations in the Byron Shire area catherine@helps.com.au
Professor Lynne Eagle James Cook University, Townsville Campus Social marketing/behaviour change, marketing/persuasive communication effects and effectiveness lynne.eagle@jcu.edu.au
Jessica Kaufman Centre for Health Communication and Participation at La Trobe University Communication for childhood vaccination, outcomes/evaluation issues j.kaufman@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Holly Seale  School of Public Health and Community Medicine, UNSW Sydney Her research encompasses qualitative and quantitative research approaches and consumers such as hospitals/community healthcare workers, special at-risk groups (people with underlying illness, migrants/refugees), students and the general public h.seale@unsw.edu.au
Nina Berry University of Sydney Health Social Science; Health Communication; Vaccination Communication; Health Literacy; Social Marketing; Behaviour Change; Developing and Evaluating Complex Interventions; Mixed Methods Research; Interdisciplinary Studies nina.berry@sydney.edu.au
Professor Rachel Skinner Discipline of Child and Adolescent Health & Children’s Hospital at Westmead Sydney Medical School
University of Sydney, Australia
Prof Skinner's current research program spans several areas within the field of sexual and reproductive health, including 1) teenage pregnancy, condom and contraception use, 2) the correlates and antecedents of teenage sexual risk taking, 3) knowledge and acceptability, and promotion of HPV vaccination in school based and clinic vaccination programs in Australia, and 3) clinical trials of HPV vaccines Rachel.Skinner@sydney.edu.au
Cristyn Davies Discipline of Child and Adolescent Health & Children’s Hospital Westmead Sydney Medical School
University of Sydney, Australia
Cristyn Davies’ current research program includes 1) Adolescent knowledge about HPV vaccination; psycho-social outcomes, and vaccination uptake in school based and clinic vaccination programs in Australia; 2) vaccination modalities (including acceptability); 3) gender and sexuality diversity in children and young people with a focus on health, wellbeing, and educational outcomes; 4) Health education and Sexual Health and Relationships education both at school and in clinical/other environments for children and young people; 5) Qualitative research methods, design, consultation and analysis Cristyn.Davies@sydney.edu.au
Stephanie Enkel School of Population and Global Health, the University of Western Australia Vaccination hesitancy stephanie@enkel.com.au
Adam Dunn Centre for Health Informatics, Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Macquarie University Data science methods including network science and machine learning, a very large studies of exposure and spread in news and social media adam.dunn@mq.edu.au
+612 9850 2413
Dr Jane Frawley Australian Centre of Public and Population Health Research, Faculty of Health, University of Technology Sydney Public health Research; Health Services Research; Epidemiology; Health Communication; Vaccination Communication; Health Literacy; Mixed Methods Research; Interdisciplinary Studies Jane.frawley@uts.edu.au
Professor Donna Mak University of Notre Dame Fremantle, WA; Communicable Disease Control Directorate, WA Department of Health Area of expertise   donna.mak@nd.edu.au
Shaun Hosein Queensland Health - Sunshine Coast Public Health Unit Medical Doctor with a keen interest in the clinical aspects of vaccine use and hesitancy. I have further skills and interests in:
- Medical Toxicology (Ontario Poison Centre - Sick Kids hospital, Toronto)
- Risk assessment, perception and communication
- Global Health and community development.
- Quality improvement and Research
 
Shaun.Hosein@health.qld.gov.au
Aditi Dey The National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS), and Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney Immunisation program evaluation, coverage of vaccines, adverse events following immunisation and epidemiology of vaccine preventable diseases aditi.dey@health.nsw.gov.au
Tomas Rozbroj School of Psychology and Public Health, La Trobe University

Health attitudes research, social epistemology

t.rozbroj@latrobe.edu.au
+61 3 9479 8741

Aaron Scherer

University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Risk perception and communication; social psychology; decision psychology; infectious diseases

aaron-scherer@uiowa.edu

Natalie Desmond Waitemata and Auckland District Health Boards, New Zealand Child Health Programme Manager – special interest area immunisation Natalie.Desmond@waitematadhb.govt.nz
Amy Keir Robinson Research Institute, the University of AdelaideHealthy Mothers, Babies and Children, South Australian Medical Research Institute A consultant neonatologist/immunisation provider, with a research field in transfusion and knowledge translation amy.keir@adelaide.edu.au 
Jacinta Rynehart Murrumbidgee Primary Health Network (PHN) Immunisation Support Officer for Murrumbidgee PHN

Authorised Nurse Immuniser for Murrumbidgee Local Health District

Jacinta.Rynehart@mphn.org.au
Allison Mackie Immunisation Program, Queensland Department of Health Program management, policy Allison.Mackie@health.qld.gov.au
Melinda Hassall Australasian Society for HIV, Viral Hepatitis and Sexual Health Medicine (ASHM) Vaccination program implementation (whole of life and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander programs), Health Promotion melinda.hassall@ashm.org.au
Margie Danchin Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, Royal Children’s Hospital, and The University of Melbourne Vaccine hesitancy, vaccine decision-making, vaccine clinical trials, vaccine safety, vaccine policy, implementation science and advocacy, maternal and childhood vaccination, qualitative and quantitative research methodology.

Primary research focus has shifted to developing new interventions to address vaccine hesitancy to inform evidenced-based vaccine policy 
Margie.danchin@rch.org.au+ 61 0431144160
Jenny O'Neill Nurse Consultant, Neurodevelopment and Disability, The Royal Children's Hospital 

PhD candidate at The University of Melbourne 
Developmental Disabilities

Puberty and sexual health of young people with disabilities

Immunisations in young people with disabilities
Jenny.Oneill@rch.org.au
Andrea Timothy The University of Melbourne Global health, health systems strengthening, implementation science, immunisation a.timothy@student.unimelb.edu.au
Sharon Swaney Curtin University Health Promotion sharon.swaney@student.curtin.edu.au

Last updated August 2017